Pasadena Texas residents tell stories of Hurricane Ike damage and recovery

The Citizen, a Pasadena Texas newspaper online. Volunteer appreciation stories and residents tell of weathering Hurricane Ike and clean-up recovery in their own photos.

read more | digg story

Andy Coats of Project417 arrived at the Pasadena Salvation Army late Friday to help out local residents slammed by Ike, many still without power 2 weeks after Ike. They have been providing hot meals to locals and dispatching canteens to service a wider area- Galveston, Seabrook and Beaumont. More than 1.8 million meals have been served since the storm.

Today the existing mobile kitchen operated in partnership with Southern Baptist volunteers was being dismantled (12 fifty-three foot trailers) and moved to Seabrook, so the Pasadena EDS Incident Commander, Salvation Army Captain Edward Alonzo volunteered his church and community center, located on Cherry Brook Lane, to take over the cooking that replenishes the canteens. (this is also the site of the EDS Incident Command) I’d already told the Captain I was willing to cook anytime so, even though I’d been planning to do canteen duty in Galveston, Captain Alonzo appealed to me for help. Sure, I said, I can cook… Umm, How many are we talking? 600 the captain said (I didn’t blink- note to self: take up poker). Turns out after speaking with Cedric, the officer responsible for the canteens, it would be 600 meals per canteen.

OK grabbed a calculator and did the math. 4 canteen trucks- 600 lunches and 600 suppers. That. Is. Four. Thousand. Eight Hundred. Meals. So, I’ll be having a busy day tomorrow. Stay tuned. By the way, you can reach me on my cell while I’m here 1+832-472-8421.

